Community Forum

Opioid Settlement Fund Advisory Board

The advisory board provides recommendations on how to best allocate funds resulting from NY's opioid trials.
Opioid Settlement Fund Advisory Board

Board Charge

Created via Chapter 171 of the Laws of 2022 and pursuant to Mental Hygiene Law § 25.18, the Opioid Settlement Fund Advisory Board was established under the Office of Addiction Services and Supports to provide recommendations on how funding received by the Opioid Settlement Fund could be allocated.

Recommendations are required to be evidence-based and can consider federal, state, or local initiatives and activities that have shown to be effective in preventing and treating substance use disorders as well as maintaining recovery and assisting with the collateral effects of substance use disorders for individuals and their families or support system.

The Board provides their recommendations in a written report to the Governor, the Temporary President of the Senate, the Speaker of the Assembly, the Chair of the Senate Finance Committee, the Chair of the Assembly Ways and Means Committee, and the Chairs of the Senate and Assembly Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Committees by November 1st each year.

Board Meetings

Upcoming Meetings

June 28, 2022

  • Location: Empire State Plaza, Albany
  • Time: 11:00am – 3:30pm
  • Live Recording - this link will be active 15 mins before the start of this meeting.


Past Meetings

June 14, 2022


Board Members

  • Lawrence S. Brown, MD     
  • Anne Constantino     
  • Stephen Giordano, PhD  
  • Avi Israel 
  • Suzanne G. Lavigne           
  • Ashley Livingston     
  • Joshua J. Lynch, DO 
  • Stephanie Marquesano 
  • Cheryll Moore 
  • Debra Pantin 
  • Carmen Rivera 
  • Joyce Rivera  
  • Tisha M. Smith, EdD           
  • Dr. Ashwin Vasan     
  • Justine Waldman, MD         
  • Kevin Watkins, MD
  • William M. McGoldrick           
  • Dr. Chinazo Cunningham, Commissioner Office of Addiction Services and Supports
  • Dr. Mary Bassett, Commissioner Department of Health
  • Dr. Ann Marie Sullivan, Commissioner Office of Mental Health
  • Robert Mujica, Director Division of Budget